TENZING HILARY EVEREST MARATHON

The Highest Marathon in the World

 

Race start at May 29 at 5.364m

0 0 0

Days Hours Minutes

The Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon (THEM) has been held annually on 29 May since 2003 to commemorate the anniversary of the first ascent of Mount Everest by Tenzing Norgay and Sir Edmund Hillary.

The starting signal for the highest marathon in the world is given at the Mount Everest Base Camp (5356m) on the Khumbu Glacier and in the immediate vicinity of the famous Khumbu Icefall. The run leads over rough mountain trails and yak paths to Namche Bazar, the "Sherpa capital" at 3440m. In 2006 Deepak Rai set the previous course record with a time of 3:28h. Besides the marathon there is a half marathon and ultra marathon. Family members and friends who do not want to run the race can choose the trekking option and accompany their loved ones.

To ensure the necessary altitude acclimatization and to reach the starting point of the race at all, the runners take part in the 20-day Everest Marathon program. This includes 4 nights in a hotel and sightseeing in the lively capital Kathmandu, all domestic flights and other transfers as well as a full service trekking tour to the Everest Base Camp, including food, lodging, break days and the ascent of the viewing mountain Kala Patthar (5545m). This ensures optimal acclimatization. During the trek in the beautiful Sagarmatha National Park the participants will be accompanied by an expedition team with guides, porters and medical care.

On the race day there will be checkpoints with food & water as well as route marshals. Although the total descent is about 2000m, it is a challenging route: in addition to the high altitude and snow and ice in the higher areas, exposed and blocked sections, there are also longer steep climbs to master. The race participation is only recommended for trained and experienced (mountain) runners and trail runners.

Dr. Michele Ufer and his TRAIL RUNNING ADVENTURE Team is the official representative of the event. He has already completed the THEM several times, produced an award-winning documentary film about the event and is available to help you with advice and assistance in planning and preparation.

SAVE THE DATE

MAY 15 - JUNE 4 2021

The Everest Marathon is one of the most beautiful running and trekking journeys in the world and offers athletes and accompanying persons a perfect mixture of sport, culture, adventure and relaxation.

MARATHON

Trail run from the base camp of Mount Everest to the "Sherpa capital" Namche Bazar.

HALF MARATHON

If the marathon is too far or starts too high for you, you can start halfway in Dingboche.

ULTRAMARATHON

Especially ambitious runners can test themselves on the "Extreme Ultra" track over 60km.

TREKKING "ONLY"

Ideal for accompanying persons who do not run, but still want to be 100% present.

THE ITINERARY

The race day is the running highlight of a wonderful 20-day adventure trip.

On a dream journey with runners from all over the world

HIMALAYA

PARTICIPANT'S FEEDBACK

The Everest Marathon is for many the most beautiful marathon in the world and a once in a lifetime experience.

The tour has exceeded my expectations. Everything was very well organized. It was my first trip to Asia and Nepal and it gave me an insight into other ways of life. I already plan to return to the Himalayas again in the foreseeable future. The marathon was by far the hardest run I have done so far. All in all it was an experience I will probably never forget. I would like to thank Michele Ufer once again! With his relaxed manner and his background he is an ideal partner for this event!

— Marcus Pein

We definitely had a great time and were a great team. We enjouyed views of Mount Everest and Ama Dablam in the morning while looking out of the tent and having a tea or coffee. The staff always cared for us. We had plenty of tasty food, rain and snow only at night, sunshine at the start of the marathon. It was a very exciting and thrilling time. Everything was super organized. We were able to concentrate completely on the holiday and didn't have to worry about anything.. It was an unforgettable time for us.

— Heike Maiwald & Wolfgang Funke

A dream tour! My special admiration goes out to the porters, who went up and down the mountains with over 30 kg of luggage at least as elegantly as we super trekkers with day packs. We all arrived safely at the finish and had a strenuous but also very, very nice time. I decided at the last moment to run only the half marathon instead of the whole thing. Had an annoying cold and problems with the altitude. Great that you can change the distance so spontaneously and easily! But everything went very well.

— Martin Dirnfeldner

Pictures & Impressions

That certainly make you want more...

ADVENTURE

TOUR PACKAGES

You can choose between two types of accommodation for the 20-day Everest Marathon trip, depending on whether you prefer to stay in a lodge or tent during the trek.

OFFICIAL PARTNER

Since 2012

Sports psychologist and ultra runner Dr. Michele Ufer and his Trail Running Adventure Team are official partners of the Tenzing-Hillary Everest Marathon.

Marathon at Mount Everest. The highest 42.195 km in the world - Award-winning documentary film & motivational keynote lecture with Dr. Michele Ufer

AWARD-WINNING FILM & MOTIVATIONAL LECTURE

Dr. Michele Ufer and his colleague Tobias Meinken produced the documentary film "Marathon at Mount Everest. The highest 42.195 km in the world". The inspiring film was successfully shown at renowned film festivals in Germany and abroad and received an audience award. Screenings take place in the context of motivational lectures, sport & business events, congresses, charity events.

Get more information

You would like to learn more about the Everest Marathon, are interested in the film or an in-house lecture?

After sending the form, the personal data you entered will be processed by the person responsible for data protection. This serves the purpose of processing your request, based on your consent given by sending the form - more details.

Copyright 2020 Dr. Michele Ufer. All Rights Reserved.

TENZING-HILARY EVEREST MARATHON

Der höchste Marathon der Welt

 

Start am 29. Mai 2021 auf 5.364m

0 0 0

Tage Stunden Minuten

Der Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon (THEM) findet seit 2003 jährlich am 29. Mai statt, um den Jahrestag der Erstbesteigung des Mount Everest durch Tenzing Norgay und Sir Edmund Hillary zu gedenken.

Der Startschuss des höchsten Marathons der Welt fällt im Mount Everest Basecamp (5356m) auf dem Khumbu-Gletscher und in direkter Nachbarschaft zum berühmten Khumbu Icefall. Der Lauf führt über raue Berg-Trails und Yak-Pfade bis nach Namche Bazar, der „Sherpa-Hauptstadt" auf 3440m. Im Jahre 2006 hat Deepak Rai mit einer Zeit von 3:28h den bisherigen Streckenrekord aufgestellt. Neben dem Marathon gibt es einen Halbmarathon und Ultramarathon. Familienmitglieder und Freunde, die selbst nicht beim Rennen mitlaufen möchten, können die Trekking-Option wählen und ihre Liebsten begleiten.

Um die notwendige Höhenanpassung sicherzustellen und überhaupt den Startpunkt des Laufs zu erreichen, nehmen die Läufer am 20-tägigen Everest Marathon-Programm teil. Dieses beinhaltet 4 Nächte in einem Hotel und Sightseeing in der quirligen Hauptstadt Kathmandu, alle Inlandsflüge und sonstigen Transfers sowie eine Full-Service Trekkingtour zum Everest Basecamp, inklusive Verpflegung, Übernachtung, Pausentage und der Besteigung des Aussichtsbergs Kala Patthar (5545m). Dadurch wird eine optimale Akklimatisierung sichergestellt. Während des Treks im traumhaft schönen Sagarmatha-Nationalpark werden die Teilnehmer von einem Expeditionsteam mit Führern, Trägern und medizinischer Versorgung begleitet.

Am Renn-Tag gibt es Verpflegungs- & Streckenposten. Wenngleich es insgesamt ca. 2000m bergab geht, handelt es sich um eine anspruchsvolle Strecke: neben der großen Höhe sowie Schnee und Eis in den höheren Lagen, ausgesetzten und verblockten Stellen, sind auch längere steile Anstiege zu bewältigen. Die Renn-Teilnahme ist nur trainierten und erfahrenen (Berg-) Läufern und Trailrunnern empfohlen.

Dr. Michele Ufer ist mit seinem TRAIL RUNNING ADVENTURE Team offizieller Repräsentant des Events. Er hat den THEM bereits mehrmals absolviert, einen preisgekrönten Dokumentarfilm über das Event produziert und steht dir mit Rat und Tat bei der Planung und Vorbereitung zur Verfügung.

SAVE THE DATE

15. MAI bis 4. JUNI 2021

Der Everest Marathon ist eine der schönsten Lauf- und Trekking-Reisen der Welt und bietet Athleten wie Begleitpersonen eine perfekte Mischung aus Sport, Kultur, Abenteuer und Entspannung.

MARATHON

Trailrun vom Basecamp des Mount Everest bis zur "Sherpa-Hauptstadt" Namche Bazar.

HALBMARATHON

Wem der Marathon zu weit ist oder zu hoch startet, kann zur Hälfte in Dingboche einsteigen.

ULTRAMARATHON

Besonders ambitionierte Läufer können sich an der "Extreme Ultra" Strecke über 60km testen.

"NUR" TREKKING

Ideal für Begleitpersonen, die nicht laufen, aber dennoch 100% mit dabei sein wollen.

DER REISEVERLAUF

Der Race-Tag ist das läuferische Highlight einer wunderschönen 20-tägigen Abenteuer- und Erlebnisreise.

Mit Läufern aus der ganzen Welt auf Traumreise

HIMALAYA

TEILNEHMER-FEEDBACK

Der Everest Marathon ist für viele der schönste Marathon der Welt und ein "Once in a lifetime" Erlebnis.

Die Tour hat meine Erwartungen übertroffen. Alles war sehr gut organisiert. Es war meine erste Asienreise und diese bot mir einen Einblick auf andere Lebensentwürfe. Ich habe mir vorgenommen, in absehbarer Zeit noch einmal in den Himalaya zurückzukehren. Der Marathon war der mit Abstand härteste Lauf, den ich bisher gemacht habe. Alles in allem war es ein Erlebnis, welches ich wohl nicht mehr vergessen werde. Daher an dieser Stelle noch einmal ein Dankeschön an Michele Ufer! Mit seiner entspannten Weise und seinem Background ist er ein idealer Partner für dieses Event!

— Marcus Pein

Wir hatten definitiv eine super Zeit und waren ein tolles Team. Tee und Kaffee ans Zelt, Mount Everest und Ama Dablam morgens beim Blick aus dem Zelt, keine Sorgen, aber ständig umsorgt, Essen reichlich, lecker und abwechslungsreich, Regen und Schnee nur mal nachts, Sonnenschein beim Marathonstart. Es war eine sehr aufregende und spannende Zeit. Alles war super organisiert. Wir konnten uns ganz auf den Urlaub konzentrieren und mussten uns um rein gar nichts kümmern. Und dann noch die Landschaft und der Marathon. Für uns war es eine unvergessliche Zeit.

— Heike Maiwald & Wolfgang Funke

Eine Traumtour! Meine besondere Bewunderung gilt den Trägern, die mit über 30 kg Gepäck mindestens so elegant die Berge rauf und runter gegangen, sind wie wir Super-Trekker mit Tagesrucksack. Wir sind alle heil ins Ziel gekommen und hatten eine anstrengende, aber auch sehr, sehr schöne Zeit. Ich habe mich im letzten Moment entschieden, anstelle des ganzen nur den Halbmarathon zu laufen. Hatte eine lästige Erkältung und Probleme mit der Höhe. Klasse, dass man so spontan und unkompliziert die Distanz wechseln kann! Aber so lief alles bestens.

— Martin Dirnfeldner

Impressionen

Intensive Eindrücke von einer einzigartigen Reise. Aber Vorsicht: du wirst schnell Lust auf mehr bekommen...

ADVENTURE

TOUR-PAKETE

Du kannst bei der 20-tägigen Everest Marathon-Reise zwischen zwei Unterkunftsvarianten wählen, je nachdem, ob du während der Trekkingtour schwerpunktmäßig lieber in der Lodge oder im Zelt übernachten möchtest.

PARTNER

Seit 2012

Der Sportpsychologe und Ultraläufer Michele Ufer ist mit seinem Trailrunning Adventure Team offizieller Partner des Tenzing-Hillary Everestmarathons.

Marathon am Mount Everest. Die höchsten 42,195 km der Welt - Dokumentarfilm & Motivationsvortrag von Dr. Michele Ufer

Preisgekrönter Film & Motivationsvortrag

Dr. Michele Ufer hat mit seinem Kollegen Tobias Meinken den Dokumentarfilm "Marathon am Mount Everest. Die höchsten 42,195 km der Welt" produziert. Der inspirierende Film lief erfolgreich auf renommierten Filmfestivals im In- und Ausland und erhielt einen Publikumspreis. Vorführungen finden im Rahmen von Motivationsvorträgen, Events, Kongressen, Charity-Aktionen statt.

Mehr Informationen erhalten

Du möchtest mehr über den Everest-Marathon erfahren, interessierst sich für den Film oder einen Inhouse-Vortrag?

Nach Absenden des Formulars erfolgt eine Verarbeitung, der von dir eingegebenen personenbezogenen Daten durch den datenschutzrechtlich Verantwortlichen. Dies dient zum Zweck der Bearbeitung deines Anliegens, auf Grundlage deiner durch das Absenden des Formulars erteilten Einwilligung - weitere Informationen.

Copyright 2020 Dr. Michele Ufer. All Rights Reserved.